Review Broken World #1 (with Preview)

I’m a sucker for science fiction comics. Although Marvel and DC seemed determined to keep publishing super-heroes, the smaller publishers like BOOM! are ready to take chances on stories with a good, catchy sci-fi premise. This week sees the latest new series from them, Broken World by Frank Barbiere and Christopher Peterson. BOOM! was nice enough to send us a review copy and provide preview pages for you.

BrokenWorld_001_A_MainBroken World #1 (of 4)

Author: Frank J. Barbiere
Artist: Christopher Peterson

Solicitation:
What’s to Love: We’re thrilled to publish the one new original series co-created and written by Frank J. Barbiere (Five Ghosts, Avengers World) in 2015. Broken World is a gripping sci-fi thriller and survival adventure great for fans of Y: The Last Man or The Massive. Barbiere and co-creator/artist Christopher Peterson (Grindhouse, Mayday) will explore the lives of people left behind in the apocalypse.

What It Is: With a meteor days away from causing an extinction-level event on Earth, time is running out for Elena Marlowe. While most of the planet’s population and her family were approved by the government to escape on one of the giant spaceships headed to another planet, her application was denied due to her mysterious past. With the meteor fast approaching, Elena tries desperately to find a way to fake her way onto the last ship or else be left behind to die with the rest of Earth’s rejected denizens.

BrokenWorld_001_B_10_Years BrokenWorld_001_D_Unlocked_Retailer_Variant BrokenWorld_001_C_Variant

Review:
Elena is a mysterious character and keeping us in the dark about what makes her ineligible for the evacuation helps make her a sympathetic, if not a heroic character. She spends her last days on Earth teaching and caring for her family before they evacuate. Unfortunately, her forging papers to evacuate as well make for something of a conundrum for me, as it shows a little selfishness, albeit understandable selfishness. This issue introduces suicide cults and a government that has tried to keep civilization together for the last to leave and those remaining behind.Without spoiling the ending, I should finish talking about the writing by saying that Barbiere gives us a cliffhanger that I feel like I should have seen coming, but didn’t.

I can’t talk about the art by Christopher Peterson without talking about the colors by Marissa Louise. The two mesh so nicely, that with a lesser colorist, the artwork could not hold up to the seriousness of the story. Some of the character’s expressions are a little too bland, and the exteriors are too similar, making for a little confusion for me. The most confusion for me comes at the end, where I can’t be certain what exactly happened. Maybe that is intentional, but again, it left me confused at the end of what is an otherwise intriguing story.

I recommend this book for fans of Y the Last Man and good science fiction comics everywhere. If you’re riding the fence, check out the preview below.

BrokenWorld_001_PRESS-3 BrokenWorld_001_PRESS-4 BrokenWorld_001_PRESS-5

BrokenWorld_001_PRESS-6 BrokenWorld_001_PRESS-7 BrokenWorld_001_PRESS-8